Obligatory Thanksgiving Post

I’ve been on an emotional roller coaster of sorts this month. There have been more lows than highs, but I’m still thankful, this day, and every other day, too.

I’m thankful for:

  • My job, my car, the roof over my head, the fact that I can buy food when I’m hungry.
  • My family, they are crazy and loud and dramatic but they are beautiful, loving, and hilarious, and I don’t know what I would do without them.
  • My friends, they are always there for me (and were especially great when I was broken up about being broken up with) and they remind me that life is what I make it, and that I should love myself.
  • Books, without them I would be restricted to my own reality.

My life is blessed, but on this day that celebrates all those years ago when the Natives’ land was stripped away from them, I can’t help but think about how unjust the founding of this country was. Add in the DAPL situation, and I just get even more upset.

SO.

This article has a few ways you can help out. I’ll be donating to the legal defense fund.

Happy Thanksgiving.

-Severn

Leave a Reply

