Adulting || Goal Setting

One of the things I’ve had to get through my not-quite-read-for-adulthood mind is that my goals have to be realistic. If they aren’t, I’m not only setting myself up for failure (which in itself isn’t necessarily a bad thing), but I’m setting myself up to feel like a failure.

Image result for no good

Exhibit A: My original plan for post-graduation was to live with my mom for a year and then get my own place. I also set a specific savings goal so that I could pull from that fund for rent and utilities and stuff, while continuing to save from my income.

It’s not a bad plan, but giving myself only one year, at my yearly income, was not the right move. If I wanted to reach my goal I would have to put one entire paycheck each month directly into my savings, and that’s just not realistic.

I have other responsibilities: my car payment and insurance, phone bill, student loans soon. And since I don’t want to be a complete hermit until winter, money for going out/eating.

So I have to readjust my goal.

Image result for recalculating

And while it’s not ideal, I know that it’s achievable with minimal stress. My dream is still to be moved out by June/July next summer, but my goal is to be moved out by the end of 2017.

I’ve given myself some buffer time, and this goal now lines up with some others I have regarding my career. So my life at that point will be changing for the better in multiple ways.

Even if it takes a little longer than I first thought, I have faith that I am exactly where I need to be in life. I know that God has a plan for me, and ultimately He will reveal that to me and guide me as He sees fit.

This doesn’t mean you shouldn’t have your own plan! It just means that you should trust that if things don’t happen the way or the time you want them to, everything will still work out the way it’s supposed to in the end.

Moral of the story:

Be realistic.

Have faith.

Live happy.

❤ Severn

 

Leave a Reply

