My Job is Boring

My job is boring.

My job doesn’t pay enough.

My job is unfulfilling.

But I do it.

I slaved away for five years because I said I loved this. Architecture is what I want to do. An architect is what I want to be.

That’s not how it works, though. First of all, that last statement is slightly off. Architect is WHO I want to be. That’s what it should have been. That’s how I know that I’m not doing what I want to be doing.

Originally, when I decided to pursue architecture, my goal was to open my own firm and work with communities to create affordable housing that was sustainable and beautiful. Now I’m not so sure. I dread coming to work, I feel my mind turning to mush while I work on CAD all day, and I stress knowing I’m not getting the experience I’ll need to open up my own place one day.

I have to remind myself that I’m still new, though. Yeah, I’ve been doing “architecture” since the age of 12, but I’ve only been doing it professionally for three summers. That’s not even a full year of experience! But I’ll get there, and maybe as time goes on I’ll begin to fall back in love with architecture.

Maybe all I need is a little something to spark my passion again. A particularly beautiful building, or a trip to somewhere like Italy, or Greece. Maybe I’ll start sketching again, reconnect myself to my favorite part of the process. I have to do something. Adulthood is tough enough to get used to without also doubting my career choice.

Until next time,

Severn

6 comments

  1. fmtcd · August 26

    I’m not familiar with Architecture, but are there any volunteer or side projects you could take on as an outlet for your core creative passion? I have what most folks would consider a dream job, but, like most things, the novelty wears off after a time and the routine and grind wear away the thrill. I’ve found a great deal of satisfaction (and renewed enthusiasm) by creating a little side project of my own.

    Anywho, I know it’s not an easy place to be. I hope you’ll find a way to recapture the excitement, an outlet for your creativity, or a new path to follow. Good luck!

    Liked by 1 person

    • severngoddess · August 29

      That’s great advice! I’ll look into if there are any opportunities like that for me. Thanks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Vénus de bronze · August 25

    Saaaaame. I’ve been complaining all week about this — being underpaid and my intelligence being wasted when I could be doing something more important/relevant/useful. OTL

    Liked by 1 person

    • severngoddess · August 29

      Bleh, I’m hoping things look up for us in the next few years (though I wish it could happen faster).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. littlegentian · August 25

    I think that you are coming at this from the right perspective. Spark the love and passion again. Work on your ideal affordable and sustainable housing. Borrow some architecture books from the library and pour over them. But most of all remember, that it is okay for your dreams to change and adapt, but don’t let that be because of an entry level job that you will easily and quickly surpass. Right now you are at the bottom of the chain, but once you move up the ladder you will get to do more and more of what you do. It is incremental and it sucks, but do not doubt your talent and passion : ) Rekindle it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

